Old Block Quilt-Along by Bernina

This Blog Post won´t be a tutorial or anything similar. It is just a simple way to convince myself (or rather pressuring me) to sew the monthly Quilt-Block. I normally start those kind of things /sew alongs, and then just quit it in the middle.

If you want to join, here is the link to the bernina site (in german):
https://blog.bernina.com/de/tag/old-block-quilt-along/?filter=date

The first Block is the Bride´s Bouquet. Which was quite difficult for me, well…till now i only sewed together squares and once made HST. I am a beginner and i did notice that, while sewing.
I also have to admit, i probably used the wrong kind of fabrics. You should always use cotton…and you should always follow the instructions. I´m a stubborn human being, so for patchwork or quilting, i only use the materials i have in my leftover bin. And there is everything!

It took me quite long to decide, which colours i wanted to use, and i´m still not sure, if i like them or if they will fit all together in the end. Maybe i will sew everything again near the end of this challenge…who knows?

After cutting everything out, i arranged the pieces as the would be sewn.
(oh sorry for thath horrible picture) First i sewed the squares together and pressed them open.
After sewing, i always put the pieces back, where they belonged to. This made it really easy to stay focused.
Then i stitched the triangles toegether and pressed the seam allowance to one side.
Than it was time for the Rhombuses..till now everything went well and was rather easy…
…but the Y-Seam were quite a challenge. Some came out beautifully, and some are really ugly.

After the first Y-Seams i stitched together the rhombuses and sewed on the triangles. I think anywhere in between those steps i thought: ” Well, now i know how this works, so i don´t need to read the rest of the instructions.” Stupid me…the last two seams got all wonky. Well i tried out something new and it is not THAT bad.

Wonky, but fine.

The second Block is already online. I don´t know when i have time to sew it together, but i sure will finish it next month.
I hope you will join the Quilt-Along, the more the merrier. And don´t forget to post you blocks with the Hashtag #BERNINAOldBlockSampler .

Thank you for reading, till next time!