Knitting Adventures: Two simple Headbands (Free Pattern)

Time flies by…

Hello everyone, i hope the “new” year has been good to you, although it feels like it already has been a very loong year. But once spring is back everything will get better, i hope.

I still had some yarn left from these projects : Knitting Adventure: Woven cable headband by Priscillia Uloho / Knitting Adventure: Socks with Cable Pattern (Free Pattern). One of my big goals this year is to empty my stash, which is manageable because my yarn stash isn´t really big (contraire to my fabric stash). So to knit up this yarn i planned two headbands. Both are very simple, but one needed blocking in the end.

Simple Knit ´n´ Purl Headband:

I really like to wear this headband.

I knitted with a 2,5 mm needle (US 1 1/2 ).
Cast on 30 stitches. Back rows/ WS rows are knitted as seen! (28 + 2 Edge stitches)

1 Row: Knit all stitches.
2 Row: Knit 2, Purl 2 – repeat till end.
3 and 4 Row: Knit 2, Purl 2 – repeat till end.
5 Row: Purl 2, Knit 2 – repeat till end.
6 and 7 Row: Purl 2, Knit 2 – repeat till end.
End knitting piece with Row 1.

I also tried my hand at chart making, i found a great site: stitchfiddle.com, where you can make up to 15 free charts. What i have realized is, that in most german knitting patterns we have different symbols. But it isn´t that hard to learn.

Basic Knitted Headband:

I knitted this headband with the same needle size than the other one.
Cast on 26 Stitches. 24 + 2 Edge Stitches
RS rows: Knit all stitches.
WS rows: Edge stitch, Knit 3, Purl till the last 4 stitches, Knit 3, Edge Stitch
Repeat pattern.

While knitting this headband, i noticed that the edges curled inwards. After finishing it, i just blocked it and it stayed flat. I´m sure after washing the headband, i have to block or iron it again, so that it will stay flat, but i´m ok with that. While wearing it it behaves fine.

I still have some meters of the yarn left, but i will keep them…maybe i will need it for darning in the future?

Thank you for reading, till next time!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.