Making Sock Blockers

I started knitting more and more Socks with patterns (cables and more) in the past, and i became aware that Sock blockers would be amazing for them. I googled if i could make my own (of course) and found an amazing template by Janet Ballweber.

You can get it here + a tutorial: https://cyberseams.com/patterns/knitting-patterns/socks/how-to-make-your-own-sock-blockers/

I´m still debating, if i should wrap it with scotch tape to make it kinda waterproof, but i mostly steam the socks with my iron for the first time (after that the will be washed in the washing machine and worn without blocking), so i think i don´t need to. But it is an option for the future.

I started with printing out the template and choosing the size which was nearest to my foot size. I used some thicker cardboard from a normal box. The first time i tried this, i used the cardboard from the back of a drawing pad, which seems to be a bit sturdier and much easier to cut!

I added 3 cm in the middle.
So i ended up with two sock blockers.

Cutting out was really difficult, so next time i will use a different kind of cardboard. Here it is- one finished sock on its sock blocker. The other sock is still on the needles, this month was a bit rough for me.

Short post, but i thank you nonetheless for reading! See you next time.

3 thoughts on “Making Sock Blockers

    1. Was it like a hard plastic or a more bendable one? I like my cardboard blockers so far, because i think they absorb a bit of steam, but will dry completely afterwards. Maybe i will ask for Wooden blockers as a birthday or christmas present.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.